My Blackberry Storm 9530

Posted on July 17, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

Following is a set of notes and links about my Blackberry Storm (9530).

For Blackberry Storm issues check Crackberry forum.

Applications, Themes:

Other applications I tried and liked (but do not have currently installed):

I tried most of the weather applications including BerryWeather ($10) trial version and always came back to WeatherBug, it has most of the functions as the other applications and it is free. There are rumors on Crackberry forums that it has severe memory leak, but in my experience BerryWeather has bigger memory leak (at least it uses more memory) than WeatherBug, and you have to pay for it (not worth $10 IMHO). I have tried AccuWeather channel, and my memory log was similar to using WeatherBug, and AccuWeather is web based service, doesn’t update the application icon and it is quite inaccurate.

Howto, Tips, Tricks:

Memory Management

  • Use MobiHome instead of Wiigo
  • Remove all applications you do not use
  • I use Meterberry to restart my Storm every morning

Settings

Battery Management

  • Auto Off over night (11pm to 6am) from Options
  • I have GPS Location on, doesn’t drain battery (at least in my case)
  • I setup Backlight Timeout to 20sec and use Autolock to lock the Storm automatically
  • Have phone calls only alert
  • I have LED indicator off

With those setting I need to recharge Storm every 2-3 days on average.

Useful links:


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

